FIRST ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 23 May 2013

PRESENT: Councillor Gwilym O Jones (Chair)

Councillor Raymond Jones (Vice-Chair)

Councillors Lewis Davies, R Dew, Jeffrey M.Evans, Jim Evans, Ann Griffith, John Griffith, D R Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, T Ll Hughes, K P Hughes, W T Hughes, Vaughan Hughes, Victor Hughes, Carwyn Jones, H E Jones, A M Jones, R Ll Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Alun W Mummery, R G Parry OBE, Dylan Rees, J A Roberts, Nicola Roberts, P S Rogers, Alwyn Rowlands,

Dafydd Rhys Thomas and Ieuan Williams

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive

Deputy Chief Executive

Director of Sustainable Development

Head of Function (Resources) and Section 151 Officer

Head of Function (Legal and Administration)

Head of Service (Policy)

Committee Services Manager (JG)

APOLOGIES: Councillor Richard Owain Jones

1 CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor G O Jones be elected Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2013-14.

In accepting the honour of being appointed, Councillor Jones promised the Council that he would carry out the duties involved to the best of his abilities. He also took the opportunity of paying tribute to the retiring Chairperson, Councillor R. Llewelyn Jones for his commitment in representing the County Council throughout his term of office.

Councillor R Llewelyn Jones, the retiring Chairperson, thanked all the members and officers of the Council for their support and co-operation during his term of office. He also gave a synopsis of his duties as Chairperson which involved representing the County Council at various functions throughout the year. He expressed his best wishes to Councillor G.O.Jones and hoped he would also enjoy a happy and successful term of office.

2 VICE-CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Raymond Jones be elected Vice-Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2013-14.

Councillor Raymond Jones thanked the members for their confidence in him and thanked members for their very kind words. He expressed his intention to co-operate with and support the newly elected Chairperson.

3 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chair extended his congratulations to those newly elected members of the Authority. He also took the opportunity of thanking those former members who had lost their seats at the election and paid tribute to the work they had undertaken whilst they had been in office.

4 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None to declare.

5 CANDIDATES PRESENTATION IN SUPPORT OF THEIR NOMINATION TO BE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with Paragraph 2.7.3.2 of the Constitution, having already submitted a written presentation (manifesto) to the Chief Executive before 5:00 pm on the 9th May, 2013 a 10 minute verbal presentation was submitted by the following candidates on their vision and values to the Council:-

- (a) Councillor R.G. Parry. OBE
- (b) Councillor Ieuan Williams

At the end of each presentation, the candidates responded to questions from Members of the Council.

6 TO APPOINT A LEADER OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

RESOLVED that Councillor leuan Williams be elected Leader of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for a period of 4 years in accordance with Article 7 and in particular the rules of procedure contained under Paragraphs 2.7.3.2.3 and 2.7.3.2.4 of the Council Constitution.

(Following a secret ballot, the voting was 17 – 12 in favour of Councillor Ieuan Williams)

7 DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

The Leader of the Council informed Council that he had appointed Councillor J.Arwel Roberts to serve as Deputy Leader.

8 CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEES

The Chairperson confirmed the re-appointment of the Committee structure as referred to in Section 3.4 of the Council's Constitution, together with the following:-

- Pay and Grading Panel (a sub-committee of the County Council)
- Standards Committee Appointments Panel
- Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education
- · Special Educational Needs Joint Committee
- Indemnities Sub-Committee

The meeting concluded at 3.00 pm

COUNCILLOR G O JONES
CHAIR